WOMENS TEAM DEBUT IN ALL-IRELAND LEAGUE | News | Buccaneers Rugby Football Club Athlone

. . . . .


published:Sep  13   2013




BUCCANEERS WOMENS team take pride of place this weekend at Dubarry Park when they make their debut in the All-Ireland League with a home game against Rathdrum on Sunday afternoon. Note that kick off time is 1 p.m. for this Division 2 Central match, so come along early and make yourselves heard!


Formed just over two seasons ago, the Buccs ladies have enjoyed exceptional success in their brief history. They captured the Connacht Womens Cup in their maiden season and followed that up last year with a tremendous Connacht League title triumph. They also acquitted themselves with distinction in the Leinster Cup where they progressed to the quarter-final stage and then topped a memorable campaign by winning a play-off against Fermoy to qualify for the AIL.


The Buccettes are a hugely committed and willing group who have worked hard at improving their game immensely in a very short space of time. Their enthusiasm is to be lauded and they are reaping rewards for the efforts being put in on raw wintry nights (when, dare I suggest, that attendance by their male counterparts may not have been so good!). Their sheer will to win is intoxicating as is the enjoyment they derive from playing.


Niamh Ni Dhroma skippers the side this season and she is a pure class act with pace to burn and terrific skills. Her sparkling performances have attracted the attention of Connacht and now the Elite Ireland Womens Sevens squads. Elaine Conlon is assistant captain and her versatility and endeavour earned her a very worthy award as last seasons’s Player of the Year. The arrivals of Sinead Taylor and Emma Treanor really boosted the backline where Treanor proved an adroit outhalf (and decent placekicker to boot) while the strong-running Taylor was a consistent try scorer. Both girls have enjoyed tremendous success with Bealnamulla Ladies Soccer team too. Hooker Mele Kiripati led by example from the frontline and was the club’s first Womens Player of the Year. She co-manages the team with Claire Wyper this term.


Natasha Egan, Annmarie Sleator, Emer Phelan, Catherine Moore and Lorna Stuart-Trainor are formidable operators in a pack that will be boosted by the returns of Sinead O’Shea and Tracy Finnerty. Sandra Griffin is also available this season and will add competiton for starting berths to Aislinn Kelleher, Niamh Gough, Colette McSpadden and Yvonne O’Shea in the backline. Aoife Taaffe, Antoinette Kemmy and Denise Coghill are other contenders to make the starting XV.



Here’s wishing Buccaneers a winning start and a successful campaign in the AIL.