BUCCS AWARDS PRESENTATIONS NEXT FRIDAY | News | Buccaneers Rugby Football Club Athlone

. . . . .


published:May  12   2013

BUCCANEERS RUGBY FOOTBALL CLUB is holding a Dinner Dance incorporating the club’s Annual Awards presentations in Athlone’s Sheraton Hotel on this Friday night, May 17th, starting at 7.30 p.m. Presentations of specially commissioned Athlone Crystal to the Adult Player of the Year winners from U-19 up to Senior will be made at the event as will presentations to Buccaneers players who have represented Ireland during the past season. The final award on the night will be the Michael Hanley Cup which will be presented to the Buccaneers Clubperson of the Year. This coveted award is in recognition of the voluntary endeavours and contribution to the club by a member. David Henshaw was the inaugural winner of this Cup, which commemorates the late Michael Hanley, and Pat Hynes received the honour last season.


A four-course meal with wine gets the evening under way and the occasion will be rounded off by dancing to the live music of ‘The No Show Band’. Black tie is optional but smart dress will be readily acceptable! Tickets can be purchased from Buccaneers Administrator Geraldine 0861732711,Lorna Stuart-Trainor 086794465, Mele Kiripati 0863462449 or Micky Carroll 0876302845. Team or group bookings welcome. Here’s hoping for a decent turnout, including faces from the past, for what is hoped to become an annual event on the club’s social calendar.   




SENIOR:-     Mark Dolan, Alex Hayman, Martin Staunton.


WOMENS:-  Elaine Conlon, Emer Phelan, Emma Treanor.


DEVELOPMENT:- David Burns, Declan Byrne, Dominic Griffith.


THIRDS:-     Tristan Couper, Keith O’Neill, Kian Shanley.


U-21:-          Ben Carty, James Donoghue, Brian Teape.


U-19:-          Sean Doyle, Scott Flanagan, Sean Gallagher.


International honours:-


Ireland Senior:-     Mike McCarthy.


Ireland U-20:-        Robert Henshaw.


Ireland U-19:-        Saba Meunargia.


Ireland U-19:-        Jacob Walshe.


Buccaneers Clubperson of the year will be ‘unveiled’ on the night.