BUCCANEERS PRESIDENT’S XV 53 EXILES SELECTION 10 | News | Buccaneers Rugby Football Club Athlone

. . . . .


published:Dec  27   2018

The Buccaneers President’s XV retained the James Moran Exiles Perpetual Cup in consummate ease when they overwhelmed the Exiles Selection 53-10 at Dubarry Park on St. Stephen’s Day. Backboned by a quintet of Byrnes, the holders were on top from start to finish in this traditional festive fixture which was played in unseasonably benign weather.


The President’s men with a numerical advantage displayed little seasonal goodwill when scoring opportunities presented themselves as they raced into an early 19-0 lead with a brace of Ross Enraght-Moony tries sending them on their way. Man of the match Robert Reid notched the third before Glen Costello opened the Exiles account. But Roan Wheatley-Byrne’s try gave the victors a healthy 24-5 halftime lead.

Gerard Fallon stretched the advantage with an early second half touchdown before Ross Enraght-Moony completed his hat-trick. Exiles captain Glen Costello grabbed his second for the Exiles to leave his side trailing 34-10 with Fallon responded similarly for the winners. Darren Costello then scored the try of the match with Ruairi Byrne getting the final touchdown following an explosive burst by Sean Flynn.


Despite the one-sided nature of the scoreline, it was nevertheless an entertaining affair well officiated by referee Richie English. History was made in the game when five members of the Byrne clan played on the President’s team. Making his final on-field outing, evergreen Paul Byrne played alongside his sons Kalem and Roan and brothers Sean and Ruairi. After the match, the James Moran Exiles Perpetual Cup was presented to victorious young captain Kalem Wheatley-Byrne by Kayla Moran, granddaughter of the late James Moran whose memory the coveted trophy commemorates.


BUCCANEERS PRESIDENT’S XV:- K.Wheatley-Byrne (captain), R.Wheatley-Byrne, P.Byrne, R.Byrne, S.Byrne, Ross Enraght-Moony, Robert Enraght-Moony, D.Costello, G.Fallon, S.Flynn, R.Reid and V.Kabongo.

EXILES SELECTION:- G.Costello (captain), A.Hayman, K.Kiripati, K.Kiripati junior, B.Pears, E.Brady, D.Hickey, J.Murtagh, J.Naughton and I.Tuiauga.

Referee:- Richard English.