BUCCANEERS 22 SLIGO 18 (J1A league) | News | Buccaneers Rugby Football Club Athlone

. . . . .

BUCCANEERS 22 SLIGO 18 (J1A league)

published:Sep  20   2018

BUCCANEERS made a winning start to the Connacht Junior 1A League when they defeated Sligo 22-18 in a well-contested opener at Dubarry Park, Athlone, on Saturday.

The game started with Buccs holding the ball for over a minute, showing our will to attack and play rugby from anywhere. For much of the game the Shannonsiders showed great heart and courage in defence, with Torin Rensford, Darren Buckley and Robert Enraght-Moony leading from there. Frankie Hopkins, our Captain for the day, moved the ball very well from scrumhalf. However, the Pirates conceded six penalties in the first half, some very harsh, giving Sligo field position with the wind at their back.

The first score came from the boot of Darragh Corbert with a penalty kick forged by Gavin O’Toole. Buccs then won another penalty from a lineout our giving us a 3-0 lead. Sligo soon levelled it up again with a penalty. Corbert then scored a wonderful individual unconverted try off a midfield scrum showing good passing and decision making from Buccaneers for an 8-3 lead Just before half time Sligo gained the lead after their much stronger scrum pushed the homesters over the line.
The opening score of the second half was a penalty kick by Sligo after a poor ruck decision to give the visitors an 8-13 advantage on the 52th minute. Buccs then played their way into the opposition 22 and, after some good carries, Dean McMahon with a great individual run lead him to touch down under the posts with the conversion added by Corbert to regain the lead by 15-13 on the 60th minute. 
Sligo responded to take the lead again with an unconverted try 5 minutes later. On the 70th minute Buccs had possession just outside the north-westerners’ 22 and, with a penalty advantage, Hopkins attacked the line and off-loaded brilliantly to Buckley who took the pass with great skill. The hooker broke the line and dotted down under the post making Corbett’s conversion a formality. Brave defence for 10 minutes then ensured the Athlone side held out with a turn over on our own line from Buckley to win the game.


BUCCANEERS:- 1 Sean Flynn, 2 Darren Buckley, 3 Sean O’Connell; 4 Hugh Ronaldson, 5 Brian Collins; 6 Trevor Philips, 7 Gavin O’Toole and 8 Torin Rensford; 9 Frankie Hopkins, 10 Dean McMahon;
11 Ross Murphy-Sweeney, 12 Robert Enraght-Moony, 13 Eoin O’Reilly,14 Gerard Fallon; 15 Darragh Corbett. Replacements:- 16 Niall Flynn, 17 Eoin Cooney on for Sean Flynn at 39mins, 18 Owen Treacy on for O’Toole at 30min, 19 Dave Mannion on for Fallon at 52 min and 20 Juan Lopez.